“Do the Right Thing” with Akim Vann

EatOkra
3 min readAug 3, 2020

--

A photo of Akim Vann, the owner of The Bakery on Bergen.
Akim Vann, the owner of The Bakery on Bergen
  1. What would you say most motivates you to do what you do? Well, I’m definitely motivated by the fact that I have four children to support for sure. I’m motivated by the fact that I knew very early on in life that I would never have a 9 to 5 job, and I also knew that I didn’t want to work for anybody but myself.
  2. What are some personal goals you most want to accomplish through The Bakery on Bergen? Some of the goals that I would like to accomplish would be some expansion. Like, you already see that we’ve built a sort of outdoor space, but I would like to even create a more open physical space with the windows and things like that, and then maybe eventually have another store.
  3. Do you have any key mentors or people who deeply influence who you are, what you believe in, and what you’re committed to in your work and life? My father, although he passed away 10 years ago, was a huge influence in my life. He was an entrepreneur, a writer, a producer, and a mentor to a lot of people in the Brooklyn area. Even though he passed away, I constantly hear his voice and things that he subscribed to.
  4. This year has been a trying one for many small business owners. What, if any, were some of the challenges you faced, and how did you overcome those challenges? Well, I was challenged with the fact that I got sick! I had to shut down and really just close my doors to get better physically and mentally. I had to make sure that my family was ok. It was definitely scary, but thankfully I recovered, and then I reopened.
  5. What do you love most about Brooklyn? Well first of all, let me say that I am native Brooklynite, which is very rare nowadays. I’m actually second generation Brooklyn. I love the fact that Brooklyn is so diverse. It encompasses just a plethora of ethnicities and lifestyles, and I feel that we all do, in some strange way, come together.
  6. Your son, Chi Ossé, is currently running for City Council of District 36. As his mom, you know him better than anyone. Why is he the right candidate for the job? My son Chi is definitely the right candidate, because although he is a young person, I think he has a lot of wisdom. I think some of the wisdom comes from the fact that he’s had to grow up a little bit quickly, or quicker than most, because he lost his dad about two and a half to three years ago. He has a lot of experience, and he’s well traveled. I believe his vision is broader than most 22 year olds, and I think we need some fresh blood in politics. We need some people with new ideas, who are not stuck in old ways, and I know Chi has the energy and the spirit to do a good job.
  7. What does “Doing the right thing” mean to you personally? Doing the right thing does not mean being perfect, because we all make mistakes, and we all do things that are sometimes not the “right” thing. But I guess doing the right thing to me would mean having the intention of always doing the right thing. Sometimes it doesn’t pan out that way, but I think if that’s what’s in your heart, in your mind, and that’s driving you, I would say you’re doing the right thing.

Find The Bakery on Bergen using the EatOkra app. Download here.

--

--

EatOkra

The place where Black food, tech and culture meet.